Art Libraries Society of North America | Mountain West Chapter
Winberta Yao Travel Award

2019 Travel Award Committee

Liz Ehrnst
Head of Research Collections and Services
Georgia O’Keeffe Museum
Santa Fe, NM

Jill McCleary

Interim Director, Head of Archives and Preservation
University of Arizona Museum of Art, Archive of Visual Arts
Tucson, AZ


To apply for the award, submit the information below in an email with "Winberta Yao Travel Award" in the subject line to:

Liz Ehrnst
Head of Research Collections and Services
Georgia O’Keeffe Museum
Santa Fe, NM

  • Letter of application indicating the conference for which the applicant seeks funding and addressing relevant eligibility and award criteria. Include a description of interest and expectations of the conference and its relevance to the applicant's professional development.

  • Estimate of conference expenses and amount of applicant's institutional funding.

  • One-page resume listing employment history, educational background, and professional activities. Include preferred mailing and/or e-mail address.


Deadline for Applications:  closed

This travel award was established in honor and recognition of Art Librarian Winberta Yao, a co-founder and the first president of ARLIS/AZ (Arizona). Winberta Yao worked at Arizona State University from 1975-1997, although her interest in forming a chapter of ARLIS began earlier, while she was working at the Phoenix Art Museum. ARLIS/AZ, established in 1975, became ARLIS/MW (Mountain West), when the states of Colorado, New Mexico, Nevada, Utah and Wyoming joined the chapter in 1997. Montana joined the chapter in 2003.


To encourage chapter and conference participation by supporting travel expenses for attendance at the ARLIS/NA annual conference or the ARLIS/NA-MW annual conference. If, for any reason, the travel award is not granted for the ARLIS/NA conference, the call for applications will be reposted before the next ARLIS/NA-MW annual meeting.

Award amount

This award is dependent on Chapter member donations, and whatever additional amount the Chapter’s Winberta Yao travel award committee, in discussion with the Chapter executive board, sees fit to add to the donations, each year. The amount for 2019 is $1,000.


Current ARLIS/NA-MW and ARLIS/NA member living in the Mountain West region including Arizona, Colorado, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming. Applicants must receive partial or no institutional funding toward ARLIS conference travel.

Award criteria

Preference is given to librarians and to students currently enrolled in or accepted into an accredited school of library and/or information science. Priority is also given to first-time attendees, and to those who are participating in the conference as a speaker, panel member, session moderator, session recorder, or ARLIS/NA committee member.

Conditions of the Award

Award winner must write and submit a report to the Winberta Yao Travel Award committee chair of conference activities and experiences for the chapter newsletter, The Mountain Ledger. This report should include an account of how the award helped the recipient's professional development. Award recipients are strongly encouraged to take future committee and leadership responsibilities in the Mountain West Chapter.

Guidelines approved by Mountain West Chapter membership, 11/12/09